b e d b u n n y . d i a r y l a n d . c o m
now with more domesticated flavor!.. just kidding. I'm a piece of shit.

index // archives // profile // read notes // leave notes

I wouldn't have $8000 worth the bills to pay if she didn't hit me in the first place.
2005-04-26 4:26 p.m.

My attorney got in touch with me a week or so ago and we met up.. well.. it was my lawyer's brother actually.... anyhow, he let me know what went down with my accident case: It's settled.

They tried to get $39,000-- thirty nine thousand dollars-- �20,461.51 UK pounds-- 50,138.58 Australia dollars-- 4,133,221.54 Japanese Yen! That's a lot of money!

But the woman who hit me only had a liability policy limit of $25,000-- 13,115.12 UK pounds-- 32,140.20 AUD-- 2,649,980.86 Japan yen! Boo-hoo!

Sure, I say that my case was settled for $25,000, but that's including the money that belongs to all those in which I am indebted to for medical bills and shit. Not to mention before the money is subtracted for my many medical tabs, the lawyers save one third of my winnings for themselves.

What do I get? A little more than one third. I'm down with that.

But then I think about it this way: If I won $25,000 in the lottery or something, I would have to pay the taxes or something.. whatever-- I don't know how much they would want though.. Anyway, It would be awesome if I won the lottery, Instead, I earned my money because of everything I endured.. I loved driving-- after the accident, I had a fear and hallucinations afterwards.. Let's not forget that I also tore a ligament on my spine right between my shoulder blades. I am still getting pain from that and when it hurts, it feels like my shoulder blades are being ripped apart from each other. Like, my vertabrae are being dislocated.. ugh whatever.

Get what I am saying? Winning $25,000 in a lawsuit for someone else's negligence is a lot different than getting it by a stroke of good luck.

[ say what? || nonsense! ]
diaryland