b e d b u n n y . d i a r y l a n d . c o m
now with more domesticated flavor!.. just kidding. I'm a piece of shit.

index // archives // profile // read notes // leave notes

316: Toxic coworkers? Or just complete idiots? You decide.
2011-06-16 12:59 p.m.

A few weeks ago I was asked by my boss if I wanted to take on some new optional responsibility.. and of course I said yes because when it comes to over-filling my plate, I am the queen. So this extra job entailed helping out in the rest of the lab with specimen retrevial and handing them off to the different area of the lab. I was told that they needed a hand during lunch time and that it wasn't going to be a daily bit-- just whenever I could land a hand then I should.

Well, now they assume that I am going to come over everyday and that they are entitled to the help even when they are sitting on their fat, lazy asses playing freecell, solitare, or doing their daily crossword puzzle.

So I shove my lunch in my face in 5 minutes and then go help the ungrateful bitches.

I stopped by at 12:10 to start helping out and the woman who eveyone says is crazy (which I have yet to see) says "Oh, we should have called you! There was a presentation for a new machiene that Laura needed to see and she couldn't because we needed the help." ... now, I know I take offence easily but this was the second time this week that she had assumed that I had nothing better to do than sit around staring at the computer screen until specimens came through the tube from the ER and OR and where-ever.

me-- "Well, I had stuff to do its not like I was just sitting around wasting time."

her-- "Oh I know we just could have used your help out here. I was just saying I should have called you."

Okay-- look at my name badge... What is the title? "Cytology Assistant". The last time I checked this did not translate into "the Lab Gopher" or "Everyone's Bitch".

me-- "Sorry I ate my lunch in 5 minutes so I could come over as soon as possible because if I don't eat before I come then I end up having to wait until 2:00. I got over here as fast as I could." and omitted the part about how my workspace is full of shit that needs to get done and I am the only person who works in my department.

So I sat there waiting for specimens trying to contain myself while she sat there and did her crossword puzzle. I waited for a half hour and had only gotten to receive one specimen and there I am sitting there waiting for the next tube to come. It arrives and I remove the biohazard bag and begin to open it when the chick who "could have" been watching the damn presentation about the new machiene comes over and starts questioning me about where the specimens in my hand just came from.. She takes them away from me before I receive them.

So I sat there for another 5 while NO ONE went to lunch and it was 12:45 by this point and normally there would only be 2 people working in that area but no. There were 5 today and there I am getting my balls busted because they needed my help sooooo badly and I didn't come over 5 minutes earlier so Sue could play solitare and Nancy could fill out her puzzle.

Give me a damn break.

You all think you are entitled to my help but you don't need it. And then next time you try to call me over because you would rather be screwing off, I may not be able to put a filter on this pie hole.

[ say what? || nonsense! ]
diaryland